La literatura y la familia

“Mis abuelos, mis padres y yo” por Frida Kahlo, 1936 

“Mis abuelos, mis padres y yo” por Frida Kahlo, 1936

January 9th 

            The relationship between literature and family is complex and fascinating.  The American writer Alex Haley (the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize, appropriately enough, for Roots: The Saga of an American Family) claimed that In every conceivable manner, the family is link to our past, bridge to our future.”  In this way, one can understand the family itself as a sort of story, a narrative that tells one where their ancestors came from, what they did, and how that tells one who she or he is.  When one can see the family story continue into the future by way of one’s progeny, it is (unlike literary works such as novels) an endless narrative.  Of course not every family line is continued, and not every person has knowledge of their ancestry, or indeed any connection to a family.  But to me, Haley’s quotation suggests the idea of the family as a continuing narrative and I can imagine a family tree as a visual representation of this story (or stories).

            Personally, literature has always been closely connected with my family.  For me, and probably for most of the people in the class, my earliest experiences with literature were stories read to me from my parents.  My parents read me children’s stories, then as I grew older, they read me novels, short stories and poems.  I also remember my aunts and my grandmother telling me folk stories and fables. 

            Though my lack of knowledge precludes my discussion of Latin American literature specifically, it seems interesting that the family unit is at the centre of so many beloved and important works.  My mother loves the work of Austen and Dickens (though I personally do not enjoy them), which are largely concerned with families and family issues.  Some of my favourite works feature the different generations of Sallinger’s Glass family and Puzo and Coppola’s Corleone family.  And though the “literary” content of my one final example may seem questionable to some, I feel as though I can’t close this discussion (my first blog entry ever) without mentioning the Simpsons.

 

Published in: on January 9, 2007 at 8:50 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://span365blog.wordpress.com/2007/01/09/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dan, I like the idea of the family “itself as a sort of story.” On the other hand, that story still has to be told, to be narrated; I’m not sure it exactly tells itself. Roots is a particularly interesting example, of course, in that it was written (by the man who also co-wrote Malcolm X’s autobiography) quite clearly as a way of helping African Americans rethink their identity, tracing origins back through slavery to Africa. Again, this is not a story that told itself, but that came to be told within particular political and social circumstances.

  2. Even though you were the only person who mentioned the Simpsons I bet a lot of people were thinking about it. The family is the core of so many TV shows – from comedy to drama – because it provides the characters and situations for a wealth of stories. Everyone can relate to these stories in some way, and what’s more, they inform people’s conceptions of what the family is and ought to be.

  3. Bush goes ballistic about other countries being evil and dangerous, because they have weapons of mass destruction. But, he insists on building up even a more deadly supply of nuclear arms right here in the US. What do you think? What is he doing to us, and what is he doing to the world?
    Are we safer today than we were before?
    We have lost friends and influenced no one. No wonder most of the world thinks we suck. Thanks to what george bush has done to our country during the past three years, we do!


Leave a Reply

